# ILLINOIS CORN GROWERS ASSOCIATION

Minutes of the Forty-Seventh Annual Meeting Held Tuesday, November 26, 2019

The forty-seventh Annual Meeting of the members of the Illinois Corn Growers Association was held on Tuesday, November 26, 2019 at the Asmark Institute in Bloomington, Illinois.

President, Ted Mottaz called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

Secretary, Dave Rylander reported that the following notice was sent to each member as required by the Bylaws:

Notice is hereby given by order of the Board of Directors that the regular Annual Meeting of Members of the *ILLINOIS CORN GROWERS ASSOCIATION* will be held at the Asmark **Institute at 14171 Carole Drive** in the City of **Bloomington**, Illinois on the **26<sup>th</sup> day of November**, **2019** at **8:00 a.m.**, for the purpose of:

- 1. Considering and acting upon reports of the Officers and Board of Directors for the preceding year.
- Certifying election of five (5) Directors, one to be certified from each of the five Director Districts (*Districts 1, 4, 7, 10, 13*) and election of two directors *At-Large*. The five District Directors will be <u>certified</u> for three-year terms, and the two At-Large Directors will be <u>elected</u> to one-year terms.
- 3. Transacting such other business as may properly come before the meeting.

**Dated** at **Bloomington**, **Illinois**, this 29<sup>th</sup> day of October, 2019.

ILLINOIS CORN GROWERS ASSOCIATION Dave Rylander Dave Rylander, Secretary

Dave Rylander reported that we do have a quorum present in person or by proxy.

It was moved by Steve Pigg, seconded by Dan Cole, and carried

THAT we dispense with the reading of the minutes of the Illinois Corn Growers Association's Forty-Sixth Annual Meeting held Tuesday, November 20, 2018 and place them on file as printed.

# FINANCIAL REPORT

Secretary, Dave Rylander presented the final Statement of Financial Position and Statement of Activities for the year ending September 30, 2018.

It was moved by Mark Wilson, seconded by Kate Danner, and carried

THAT the financial statements for the period ending September 30, 2018 be placed on file.

Dave Rylander presented the draft Statement of Financial Position and Statement of Activities for the current year ending September 30, 2019.

# REPORT OF THE BOARD

President Ted Mottaz reported on his year as the Illinois Corn Growers Association president.

# COUNTY AWARDS

Terry Smith presented awards to county organizations. Counties are recognized for their work in conducting programs in each of the following categories: Market Development, Public Relations, Membership and Legislative. Organizations recognized were DeKalb County, Kane County, Kankakee County, Kendall County, Knox County, Livingston County, Mon/Clair County, Peoria County, Tazewell County, Wayne County and Will County.

### AWARDS

Bill Leigh presented the following awards.

An Environmental Award was given to Matt Boucher.

The Excellence in Media Award was presented to Betsy Jibben.

The Ethanol Award was presented to Coleman Jones.

The World of Corn Award was presented to Bruce Kettler and Jim Robbins.

### EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR REPORT

Executive Director, Rodney Weinzierl started his report with a discussion about how ICGA membership responded to the 2019 policy survey. This year, the top priorities of the association, as established from the survey are: Exports, River Transportation and Ethanol Market Expansion.

Rod Weinzierl introduced the following staff team: Ashley Deal, Membership & Grassroots Advocacy Manager; Suzie Rogers, Comptroller; Tricia Braid, Communications Director; Dan Obert, Communications Manager; Lindsay Mitchell, Director of Communications & Marketing; Dave Loos, Director of Biofuels & Research; Collin Watters, Director of Exports and Logistics; Jim Tarmann, Managing Director; Kayla Veeder, Director of Operations; Travis Deppe, Director of PCM; Dr. Laura Gentry, Director of Water Quality Research; Debbie Malloch, PCM Administrative Manager; Megan Dwyer, Nutrient Loss Reduction Manager; Katie Meredith, Administrative Assistant; Dana Hancock, Accounts Payable Specialist; and Mike Ward, Accounting Assistant.

#### CONFIRMATION OF ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

Ted Mottaz reported the results of the district elections.

District 1	Mike Homerding
District 4	Bill Leigh
District 7	Mark Bunselmeyer
District 10	Marty Marr
District 13	Matt Rush

It was moved by Ross Pauli, seconded by Jim Reed, and carried

THAT we confirm the above-named directors for election.

Candidates who declared their intentions to run as at-large directors were Kate Danner and Dave Rylander.

It was moved by Mark Wilson, seconded by Steve Pigg, and carried

THAT we cast a unanimous ballot for Kate Danner and Dave Rylander as at large directors.

### ACTS AND DEEDS

It was moved by Dan Cole, seconded by Jim Reed, and carried

THAT the acts and deeds of the Illinois Corn Growers Association's officers and board of directors for the past year be approved.

#### ICMB UPDATE

Roger Sy, Chairman of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board was introduced to make a few remarks and give thanks to ICGA for their hard work.

### NCGA UPDATE

Kevin Ross, NCGA President, started by thanking Illinois Corn for our support and for being a great partner with NCGA. Kevin gave updates on the programs NCGA has worked on in 2019 and what the organization hopes to accomplish in 2020.

# OTHER BUSINESS

Bill Leigh presented a plaque to President Ted Mottaz and recognized his efforts as president this year.

It was moved by Kenny Hartman, seconded by Jeff Scates, and carried

THAT the meeting be adjourned.

Dave Rylander, Secretary