IL Corn Well Represented in 2020 Master Farmers

Lindsay Mitchell

Mar 03, 2020  |  Today's News

Five Illinois farmers will be honored as 2020 Master Farmers at Prairie Farmer magazine’s annual event March 19 in Springfield, Ill. The award recognizes exceptional agricultural production skills, commitment to family and service to community.  IL Corn is excited to celebrate the award with three of it's current and former leaders, John Adams, Sue Adams, and Ted Mottaz.


Pictured L-R: Dale Hadden, Joe Pickrell, John Adams, Susan Adams, and Ted Mottaz


John and Susan Adams farm near Atlanta, IL and have been involved in IL Corn for many years.  John served as the Illinois Corn Marketing Board District 8 Director for nine years, servining as the Chairman of the Board in 1999.  Susan has served as leadership of the Zea Mays Board (the IL Corn Growers Association foundation), including as its President.  Susan also currently represents IL Corn on the Council for Food and Ag Research, serving as the groups President.  John and Susan also represented all corn farmers across the nation in a national ad campaign by the Corn Farmers Coalition which featured the couple on the farm.  The ads were available online, all over Washington, DC and even in Chicago's O'Hare International Airport.


Ted Mottaz farms in Elmwood, IL and is currently the Illinois Corn Growers Association immediate past president.  During his tenure on our leadership team, Ted represented Illinois on various National Corn Growers Association action teams and committees, and traveled to Washington, DC multiple times to advocate for ICGA on current policy initiatives.  Ted was also selected by his peers to represent the board on an international mission to Cuba.


IL Corn is proud of our long legacy of Master Farmers!  Congratulations to John Adams, Sue Adams, and Ted Mottaz on their outstanding achievements!