ICGA Statement on the Next Generation Fuels Act

Lindsay Mitchell

Aug 26, 2021  |  Today's News |  ICGA |  Ethanol

ICGA Statement on the Next Generation Fuels Act


Congresswoman Cheri Bustos introduced the Next Generation Fuels Act (H.R. 5089) this week, a piece of legislation that paves the way for corn-based ethanol to be an important part of our nation’s renewable energy future. Immediately following, Illinois Corn Growers Association President Randy DeSutter, a farmer from Woodhull, made the following statement:


“Today, corn farmers in Illinois celebrate the introduction of the Next Generation Fuels Act. The high-octane fuel standard this bill will establish allows corn-based ethanol to contribute to a new clean fuel economy.


“One of the biggest concerns in rural Illinois is that our current energy policy chooses which renewable energies will win and which will lose. A policy like the Next Generation Fuels Act levels the playing field and allows fuels that can meet the standard to compete. The Next Generation Fuels Act provides clean energy and energy efficiency, while benefiting rural economies and Americans wanting cost-effective vehicles and fuels. This policy benefits all.


“This policy is even a win for automakers. They would now certify their new vehicles to meet emissions and fuel economy standards using this new fuel. The high-octane fuel makes it easier for them to meet their goals because these engines will get more miles per gallon.  That increased fuel efficiency reduces emissions. Using low carbon corn-based ethanol to build the new fuel decreases greenhouse gas emissions and improves air quality to benefit human health.


“I am so pleased to be represented by Cong. Cheri Bustos, an elected official who understands that corn farmers and rural America can make a big difference in the nation’s pursuit of cleaner energy. I would also like to thank Cong. James Comer (R-KY) an original sponsor, and Cong. Cynthia Axne (D-IA), Cong. Jason Smith (R-MO), Cong. Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO), and Cong. Darin LaHood (R-IL) for cosponsoring this important legislation.”