Aug 31, 2010  |  Today's News |  ICMB

BLOOMINGTON – Scott Stirling, a grain producer from Martinton, Illinois has been elected Chairman of the Illinois Corn Marketing Board (ICMB) for 2010-2011.  The Iroquois County corn producer has served on the board since August of 2004.  Stirling currently represents corn producers in District 6 which is comprised of Ford-Iroquois, Champaign and Vermilion Counties.  Stirling replaces Jim Rapp of Princeton.

Other officers elected to ICMB leadership were: Vice Chairman – Bill Christ of Metamora; Treasurer – Kent Kleinschmidt of Emden and Secretary – Larry Hasheider of Okawville.

Two new directors were elected to the board:  Tom Mueller of Taylor Ridge (District 3) and James R. Raben of Ridgway (District 15).  Mueller represents corn producers in Henderson, Henry, Knox, Mercer, Rock Island and Warren Counties, and Raben represents producers in Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pope-Hardin, Pulaski-Alexander, Randolph, Saline, Union and Williamson Counties.

Three incumbents elected to a new term on the board were:  Scott Stirling, representing corn producers in District 6; Gary Schmalshof, District 9 (Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike and Schuyler Counties); and John Shore, District 12 (Clark, Coles, Crawford, Douglas, Edgar and Jasper Counties).

The Illinois Corn Marketing Board is a group of 15 farmers elected from across the state.  This volunteer producer board has the mission to create opportunities for increasing Illinois corn value and utilization. In order to fulfill their mission the organization administers the state checkoff program, identifies and invests in market development, research, and commercialization activities; evaluates the impact each investment generates; cooperates with major commodity organizations on state, national and international market development efforts; and disseminates timely information.  The ICMB serves the interests of and is accountable to all Illinois corn producers.