Legislative Team Strengthens Voice for Farmers

Haley Bickelhaupt

Feb 01, 2023  |  Today's News |  ICGA |  Public Outreach |  Legislation & Regulation |  Farm Policy

With fewer lawmakers representing rural America in Congress and in the state legislature, it is more important than ever for farmers to be well represented in Washington D.C. and at our state capitol in Springfield. As our organization continues to lead on issues that impact agriculture and renewable fuels, IL Corn is continuously looking to enhance our advocacy efforts.


"I'm so glad we can be an association that farmers look to for leadership on key policy issues impacting corn,” said Illinois Corn Growers Association President Matt Rush. “As IL Corn continues to work for farmers at the highest legislative levels, we aim to best represent Illinois farmers and their concerns.”


Meet IL Corn’s staff members, working to represent you in Washington, DC and Springfield, IL!  

Director of Public Policy: Bradley Stotler

Brad Stotler is a Peoria native that graduated from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign in 2003. He came to IL Corn from Rep. Darin LaHood’s (IL-16) office where he was the Congressman’s District Director for 7 years. Prior to that position, Stotler lived in Washington D.C., working in government relations and on Capitol Hill. He was a lobbyist for the fuel marketing industry, working on transportation bills and renewable fuels issues. While on Capitol Hill, Brad worked on staff for Rep. Tim Johnson from Champaign, and started his career as an intern for Rep. Ray LaHood from Peoria.

Public Policy Manager: Russell Orrill

Russ Orrill was born and raised in western Illinois (Frederick, IL) on an 80-acre row crop farm overlooking the Illinois River valley. He attended Western Illinois University, majoring in Political Science and Marketing and playing baseball. While attending college, he spent his downtime as an intern for former State Senator John Sullivan.

Upon graduation, Russ worked as lead Policy and Budget staffer for the Senate Agriculture Committee under Senate President John Cullerton. In 2014 he accepted a position with Illinois Farm Bureau as a state lobbyist, and in 2018 transitioned to GROWMARK, Inc. where he served as a Market Development Representative specializing in Mergers and Acquisitions.  

Policy Communications Manager: Haley Bickelhaupt 

Haley Bickelhaupt was raised in Mount Carroll, Illinois on a grain and Hereford cattle operation. She attends the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where she majors in Agricultural Communications/Journalism. Haley is a member of 4H House, National Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow and the National Hereford Association.

During the summer of 2022, Haley interned with Agri-Pulse Communications in Washington D.C. where she worked in print and audio journalism helping cover the Farm Bill, crop insurance and high input costs.

Haley looks forward to combining her passion for agriculture, policy and communications in this role. She will work at IL Corn part time until her graduation in May 2023.